Interview with journalist Lotte Sørensen from Copenhagen, Denmark.

Interview with journalist Lotte Sørensen from Copenhagen, Denmark. She is a freelancer journalist at Benjamin Media and Head of Copenhagen press group at Danish Red Cross youth. She considered herselve a driven and ambitiours journalist who enjoys working in the creative environment found in the magazine business, but also she have a love for fastpaced news production, especially online news. She has interests range from fashion, health, relationships, and gossip to third world issues, social exclusion and criminal reporting. Her specialities are narrative journalism, personal interviews for portraits or case stories criminal reporting online. She started Journalism in 2007 at Danmarks Journalisthøjskole and expected to finish it in 2011.

If you want to follow her twitter, it is lottesorensen1.

1 – Could you please tell me a little bit about your work experience? (Do you have blog, twitter, website I can check too? – Can I include those information on my article)

I my career started with six months at a Danish men’s magazine called M! – equivalent to FHM, where I did a variety of things, like interviewing models and celebrities, writing historical pieces etc. Then I worked for a year at the Danish tabloid newspaper B.T., where I mainly did crime reporting, both print and online. Now I’m a freelance journalist, and I mainly write for a women’s’ magazine called Woman. I’m about to start blogging for at health magazine, but the blog isn’t up and running yet, so unfortunately I can’t give you a link for that yet.

2 – How do you think social media is changing journalism and communication I general?

I think social media is making it easier to journalist. For instance, a while ago I was writing about the earthquake in Christchurch, New Zealand, earlier this year. I needed a case, preferably someone from Denmark who was there, when it happened. I found a young woman travel blog, and then I had my case. Without social media it would have taken much longer for me to find someone, who was there at the time. I also think that social media is good for journalism, because it makes it easier for the reader to comment on the stories, that the media is posting ie on their facebook page. Journalists can use it for finding cases, getting tips on stories from the readers and get feedback on their products. In regards to communication in general, I think social media makes it easier to stay in touch with old friends – I have contact to friends, that I might have lost contact to, if it wasn’t for facebook. I also think that it makes it easier to find out about ie new job openings if you’re searching for a new job. The downside however is, that social media is slightly addictive and is very time consuming.

3 – Do you use Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and Blog for your work? How? How do you think those social network helps you doing your job? How can people trust information from the Internet? How people can trust their credibility.

I mainly use facebook, and mainly for finding cases, like the woman who experienced the earth quake in Christchurch. I mainly use it to track down the source, and then I arrange a normal interview over the phone or in person. I believe those sources to be just as credible as sources I find in different ways – I use the same amount of healthy scepsism, and I have no problem dropping a source, if he/she doesn’t seem credible. I mainly use the social media for the colorful parts of an article – emotions, experiences etc. I don’t use it to find facts. Linkedin, twitter and my new blog will mainly be used to brand myself in my business. So it’s more to make a name for myself for when I go job hunting, and not for my daily work.

4 – What are the job opportunities for journalists with social media? Do you think traditional jobs will disappear?

I don’t think traditional journalism jobs will disappear, but they will change a bit. For instance a journalist who has worked on a newspaper in years is used to just making one product – today he probably has to make a version for the web and bring a camera for interviews, where he in the past only would bring pen and paper. This is however just a new version of the traditional journalism job – I don’t think it will disappear altogether and be replaced by new social media jobs. There will be more jobs for journalists in social media – it takes a lot of resources’ to manage a media’s facebook page or twitter account. There will also be jobs, where the journalist needs to filter through follower’s comments to find a great story.

5 – What are your advices for journalists who are starting their career using social media?

I do advice new journalists to get comfortable using social media. Find inspiration among friends – do they share their work on facebook, or report from an event via twitter? It’s like most other things – it takes experience, and since journalism is still adapting to social media, everyone can be an expert. I think new journalists are extremely skilled, because they are more likely to have a knack for social media than their older colleagues.

6 – So many things changed for the last 10 years, after the Internet, what do you think will happen in 10 years or even longer time than that?

I think that we will continue to see a development – most medias are still trying to find out what to do with the social media. I think when you visit a news website in ten years, everyone will meet a different site, because the site registers what type of news you’re interested in, and customized the front page to your liking. Apart from that, I have no idea. I’ll just be playing it by ear.

About marianabra7

I'm a brazilian publicist and journalist. I came to U.S. to study English and i have been living here for almost 8 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview with journalist Lotte Sørensen from Copenhagen, Denmark.

  1. Randy Pena says:

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

Leave a Reply

