Facebook using as a tool for journalists.

This week, as my assignment for Social network for journalist class, we had to read a lot of articles about how journalists are using Facebook as a tool for their jobs. Below some articles I read this week, in case you want to check it!

1 – http://www.facebook.com/journalist – facebook. – 54,692 like it

2 – http://www.facebook.com/marismith[Mari Smith is probably the leading expert on Facebook]. – 39,163 people on her facebook  page like it. Now 39,164.

3 – In your Facebook – Why more and more journalist are signing up for the popular social networking site – http://www.ajr.org/article.asp?id=4465

4 – Facebook’s Growing Role in Social Journalism via Mashable: http://mashable.com/2011/02/27/facebooks-growing-role-in-social-journalism/

Reading all of those pages, I realize that I’m not using my facebook page efficiently as a journalist. I do use only with personal purpose.  Many people with journalism major have 2 facebook pages, one for personal reason and second one for professional reason. I don’t think I should make a new facebook page for professional reason, but I certainly need to be more wake about how to use facebook for journalist and explore that universe more.

Kelly Wilson, on her article, said “Facebook is amusing and fun for millions of people, and journalists are people. I set up a profile purely for amusement. I don’t see any role for Facebook in our work lives, because on Facebook, like everywhere on the Internet, you never know who wrote what you see and whether it is true.” And she also said “After all, Facebook, as many of the posts from the Journalists and Facebook wall say, is where the readers are. As in any form of journalism, if you don’t understand where the audience is and what it’s doing, you don’t understand the audience.”

On the article Facebook’s Growing Role in Social Journalism via Mashable, I got very surprise with that quotation “There are 30 billion pieces of content shared on Facebook each month. That includes news stories, links, notes, photo albums and more. With so much content flowing into the news feed, journalists are finding a voice by amplifying and reporting quality content to interested readers.” And “ In some cases, news coverage would have been impossible without Facebook. Libya is a great example of that, Peralta from NPR said”. I thought both quotations were very powerful.

I don’t think I will sign a new page on facebook for professional reasons, but I’m certainly need to be more wake to follow facebook more with journalism eyes.

About marianabra7

I'm a brazilian publicist and journalist. I came to U.S. to study English and i have been living here for almost 8 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

