Response to article: How the social evolution has altered my FIR news-gathering process by Shel Holtz.

How should I start? After read the article “How the social evolution has altered my FIR news-gathering process ” first thing which came to my mind was what is feeds, related with social media?.

According to webopedia website feed is a web documento that is a shortened version of a web page that has been created for syndication. Feeds usually end in .xml or .rss. I thought that it was interesting while I was reasenching that word that I found out feed as a verb to give food to / noun for an act of giving food. I thought it was interesting if we think information become food for people, some how.

Also, according to Wikipedia, “a web feed (or news feed) is a data format used for providing users with frequently updated content. Content distributors syndicate  a web feed, thereby allowing users to subscribe to it. Making a collection of web feeds accessible in one spot is known as aggregation, which is performed by an aggregator . A web feed is also sometimes referred to as a syndicated feed. A typical scenario of web feed use is: a content provider publishes a feed link on their site which end users can register with an aggregator program (also called a feed reader or a news reader) running on their own machines; doing this is usually as simple as dragging the link from the web browser to the aggregator.”

The benefits of using web feeds compared to receiving content via an email are:

  • Users do not disclose their email address when subscribing to a feed and so are not increasing their exposure to threats associated with email: spam, viruses, phishing, and identity theft.
  • Users do not have to send an unsubscribe request to stop receiving news. They simply remove the feed from their aggregator.
  • The feed items are automatically sorted in that each feed URL has its own sets of entries (unlike an email box where messages must be sorted by user-defined rules and pattern matching).

Now that I understood what feed is, I went back to “How the social evolution has altered my FIR news-gathering process” article. Shel Holtz said that, “I haven’t abandoned my feeds. After all, the material shared by people I follow can be great, but it doesn’t guarantee I’ll see everything I find interesting. (This is an important point. The news may find you, but not all the news will—just that which you happen to catch as it scrolls by.) So I still check the feeds at least once a week. I still get good material from the feeds, but the premium I placed on them has definitely diminished. “

I do agree with him that many times the news will find you, but not all the news will.  It is important to look for the news to!

In addition, I would say that the process for identifying news and information has been changing with social media in general. Many times, I receive some news by friends from all over the world and after they comment by Facebook or twitter, I do my own research about the topic they suggest.  Sometimes I just listen what they say or read what they write and I don’t do any research.  I definitely think the news has been changing with social media, especially when we think where the information comes from.

About marianabra7

I'm a brazilian publicist and journalist. I came to U.S. to study English and i have been living here for almost 8 years.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

